The ILT Bonk.

I would like to take this opportunity to kiss (metaphorically) the serif-esque feet of Mister Johno, who maintains one of my absolute favorite blogs, called I Love Typography. Yesterday, in his highly overstimulating post entitled “Czech Type,” Johno kindly suggested that his many many readers sneak a peek at my humble offerings of Words&Eggs. And now, ever since the inclusion of my blog on his list of “Sunday Links,” my stats can only be described as: BONKERS! And I ain’t talkin’ ’bout the 1980′s fruit-chewy candy, either. Though, let’s face it: those things RULED. Especially when they offered cool, plastic Transformer knock-off watches for minimal cash + UPC symbols. BONK!

Bump!

Colbert may bump, but Johno bonks!

You may be familiar with Stephen Colbert and his unshakable pride for the sudden increase of his guests’ popularity and fame following an appearance on his show, “The Colbert Report.” Colbert bashfully (ha) refers to this effect as “The Colbert Bump”. Well, I would argue that TypeMaster Johno’s effect is no different: the moment TMJ immortalizes another blog in type on “I Love Typography,” that blog’s popularity swells to the point of bonky explosiveness. Example: earlier today, my Words&Eggs was listed as one of WordPress’s Fastest Growing Blogs! That is pure insanity.

It is, therefore, with great pleasure that I deem the popularity-increasing capacity of TypeMaster Johno and “I Love Typography” as: The ILT Bonk.

You heard it here first.

Thank you so so much for the bonk, TMJ! :) (note: by referring to you as “TMJ,” I do not mean to imply that you have TemporoMandibular Joint disorder. Just to clarify.)

Here’s to future bonking… and generic Tranformers watches.

BONK*!

(*please bonk responsibly)

 

http://rpc.technorati.com/rpc/ping

Leave a Reply

