Letterpressing, one month at a time.

As I’ve previously mentioned, I kinda like the letterpress. And the letterpressers. And the letterpressed. Particularly when the letterpressers provide me 12 months-worth of letterpressed awesomeness. Like those at Ilee Papergoods, who definitely know their way around a freakin’ letterpress. Here’s the proof:

Let’s get a closer look at my favorite month’s letterpressed brilliance, shall we?

Holy crizzap. That’s pretty much more letterpressing fabulosity than I can handle right now. So, before I have a coronary, let’s check out what the Lizard Press letterpressers have in store for us in 2009:

Good grief. Those lizards have a lot of freakin’ nerve creating such letterpressed elegance. That being said, I still need more, please, lizard letterpresser. Maybe just one month’s supply of letterpressing so I don’t fall over from overstimulation, please?

OK, seriously? If you’re going to slam a Jacques-Cousteau’ed letterpressed quote on me, the VERY least you could do is offer some type of warning. I think I’m hyperventilating. Please hold…

OK. Breathe in, breathe out. Wax on, wax off. OK. I think I’m OK now. Let’s move on. Whew. Stupid lizard-heads.

Alright, next up: Delphine Press’s 12-month letterpressed calendar:

Gee, thanks, Delphine. You tease me with a letterpressed owl and then you don’t allow me to offer my readers large-sized images of the letterpressed cuteness?! WHAT GIVES?! Not cool, Delphine. Not cool at all. So, to compensate, here’s another (tiny) animal image:

Sheesh. Enough from Delphine. Let’s move onto Green Chair Press before I throw a letter block:

Yay for largeness! Whoever said “size doesn’t matter” is a lame-o and clearly has never seen a letterpressed calendar image. Ok, close-up now:

Ah! It also contains encouraging letterpressed quotes!!!! Holy h*ll. Who would have thought that green chairs could be so creative and verbose? I didn’t even think they had hands. I’m starting to see spots, so I better move onto the next one. Umm, this next one is from the Paper Source. And you already know how I feel about my Mecca/Church, etc.. So… watch your back, readers… tread lightly… 

I’m sorry, but are those GIRAFFES?!? How the F am I supposed to handle THAT, huh?!?!? Talk about needing a warning before seeing such ridiculosity…!!!!! Before I drool all over my keyboard, thereby making it ill-equipped to type anything further, here’s a close-up of October:

CAN. NOT. BREATHE.

Whoa. OK. I have my paper bag for hyperventilating… I think I’ll be OK. But let’s move on, just in case. The following are some lovely, simplistic little letterpressed designs from Sugar Paper, who also kindly offers little easels for proper display of the letterpressing:

I’m ready for my close-up, please:

I love that little easel. Maybe I just like the word “easel.” It has the word “ease” in it, after all, and that’s always comforting, isn’t it? It is. But enough. One more letterpressed calendar offering for you. This one, from Manifesto Letterpress, is actually an image of their 2008 calendar, but they inform us that the 2009 version will be very similar (minus the date changes, duh). Check it out, please. It’s definitely one of my favorites:

Can you even freakin’ STAND it?!?!? I’m particularly a fan of the roller skate. Though, I do feel that any of these could serve as Monopoly pieces, don’t you think? And I don’t even like Monopoly… but I’ve ALWAYS enjoyed its pseudo-pewter pieces. OK, our final close-up for this post:

I hope this post is not the cause of any cardiac arrests, fainting spells, hyperventilations, vertigo inflictions, etc..

Happy letterpressing…

10 responses to “Letterpressing, one month at a time.

  1. Welcome to the letterpress cult! We have milk and cookies

    Great post, made my morning 🙂

    Have you done much letterpress work yourself? It’s crazily satisfying
    (sorry if that’s been addressed before on this blog, I’m a new visitor)

  2. Oh my gosh, no, I’ve never done letterpressing; I’m just a little admirer. Is it possible? I mean, without buying a huge-@ss machine?!

  3. Oh yeah, you can get machines that’ll fit on a table-top no problem.. then there’s slightly bigger (Chandler & Price) that’ll fit nicely into a garage without taking up much space.. When I get home from work I’ll put together a list of links and fire you an email to whet your appetite

  4. Holy cr@p!!!! Can’t wait to find out more about these table-top machines!! THANK YOU!

  5. I haven’t got access to my computer at the moment so I figured I’ll drop the links here, rather than in an email.. and it means that others can see them too 🙂

    Ok, I won’t bombared you with information, but I’ll give you some links to get you started;
    there is a post on iLT about a home made letterpress machine: http://ilovetypography.com/2008/07/24/letterpress-from-scratch/

    There is a heap of resource links at the bottom of that post which are great

    Lauren Marie from CreativeCurio has a good Squidoo page with a pile of links: http://www.squidoo.com/vandercook-letterpress-printing

    and an example of lovely letterpress work can be found at: http://www.brooklynbookbinder.com/blog/

    She does amazing work that’ll drive you crazy. She also has a smaller press which you can see info on here: http://www.brooklynbookbinder.com/blog/2008/08/14/chicagoand-the-presseven-if-they-are-unrelated/

    That kind of press would be great for the hobbiest 🙂

    As I said, I wouldn’t waant to bombared you with information, but feel free to fire me an email if you have any questions. I’m fairly new to the world of letterpress, but would be more than happy to try to help

  6. Holy H! You couldn’t be any more awesomer if you tried! (that’s right: “more awesomer”) On behalf of myself and future readers of the above comment: thank you SOOOOO much!!!! I am going to go check those links out a.s.a.p…. try to get a few in before the big debate starts. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend, please…

  7. Gorgeous. Is it weird to have seven different letterpress calendars in my cubicle? I don’t think so! 😉

  8. Answer: an emphatic NO!!!! Nothing wrong with it AT ALL. In fact, I encourage at least 10.

    🙂

  9. I knew my ears were burning for a reason! 😉 Letterpress is an amazing process – it has let me bring my interests in typography & design into line with a huge amount of varied printmaking experience I’ve had over the years. Now, I’m having tons of fun with it and, though I’ll be just a touch late to the party, but well in advance of the new year, I’ll keep you posted when my own calendar project is ready!

  10. Merci for the mention! Yes, you can see bigger pics of our (delphine) 2009 letterpress calendar–just click on any photo to zoom in and voila: un grand image. Thanks again 🙂
    here’s a link to our calendars: http://delphinepress.com/i-133195-2009-letterpress-calendar-with-easel.html

Leave a Reply

