Who knew?

I was browsing along a fabulously and hilariously informative (yet sadly retired) blog the other day, “The Nonist,” and I came across these intricately beautiful, vintage microscope slide collections. Clearly, I ain’t no scientist; however, if science were always to involve elegantly documented specimens such as the ones I’m about to show you, well… time to change my dissertation topic!

From the Nonist’s blog entry “Beautiful Specimens”:

Wikipedia tells us: “A microscope slide was originally a ‘slider’ made of ivory or bone, containing specimens held between disks of transparent mica. These were popular in Victorian England until the Royal Microscopical Society introduced the standardized microscope slide in the form of a thin sheet of glass used to hold objects for examination under a microscope.”

I’d like to add the following: Antique microscope slides, looked at from a strictly aesthetic standpoint (egged on by a design obsessed brain obviously) are some of the most elegant and perfectly beautiful human artifacts on planet earth. You can quote me on that. See below for irrefutable scientific aesthetic evidence.

I bet you’ll feel exactly the same way once you take a gander at the following images:

micslds1micslds4micslds11
micslds6micslds16

5 responses to “Who knew?

  1. Those are gorgeous! The handwriting on each of them is so meticulous and tiny – and each one is like a little carefully designed, delicate piece with all those incredible patterns and colors. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Those are intricate and very pretty.

  3. How exquisite! A lovely find …. thanks for the link, Lesley!

  4. Joyeux Noël Lesley…:)

  5. Sorry my reply is so late to all of you, but: Thank you so much for your comments! I’m so glad you enjoyed these slides as much as I did… the composition and labeling of each are what kill me. Sometimes I fall shamefully into the belief that science is much too rational and concrete for my tastes. But then something like these slides comes along and turns me into a believer for the marriage of science and art. 🙂

    Happy holidays to all of you!

Leave a Reply

