French Friday (on Saturday. Again.)

For this, the first installment of French Friday 2009, I thought it appropriate to post some vintage French Christmas and New Year’s images. But not just any old holiday images. No no. I’ve decided to offer you some vintage shots of elegantly lettered/typed, holiday restaurant menus. (*Note: I am now on a handwriting-advocator kick ever since I encountered Anne Trubek’s article, which I freaked out about discussed yesterday on my other blog)

Oh, one more thing before I introduce the images to you: if you haven’t yet eaten dinner, you might wish to wait a bit before checking out the following images. See how I look out for you? You’re welcome.

image811

(Image above & the “Jour de l’An” menu below found ICI)

r100013022

(Image above found ICI)

feuillet

(Image above found ICI)

menu-jour-de-lan

And then a couple non-holiday vintage French menus:

menu1921tr41

(Image above found ICI)

b791_1-1(Image above found ICI)

galerie-membrenoelbougie-et-menu-de-noel

(Image above found ICI)

siege-menu1

(Image above, from the Siege of Paris, found ICI)

Leave a Reply

