Vintage Stamps: S.O.S.!

Lately, I’ve been feasting my eyes on a lot of wedding blogs that feature handmade invites and/or envelopes that use vintage U.S. stamps that still serve as valid postage. I have e-mailed a couple of people regarding where I might find some of these vintage delicacies, but to no avail. Apparently people don’t want to share the wealth. Which is fine. But… if any of you out there *do* want to share the wealth, please Please PLEASE leave me a friendly comment with any links/info as to where I might get my paws on some vintage stamps. 

I and my vintage and repurposed paper addiction thank you.

In the meantime, here’s some of my inspiration as of late:

Wedding invitations and envelope packaging by 100 Layer Cake, via Oh So Beautiful Paper:

melanie_shower1

Calligraphy and envelope design by Betsy Dunlap, via Oh So Beautiful Paper:

6a00e554ee8a228833011570867339970b-800wi

IMG_0910

And finally, one of my absolute favorite finds, Love, Jenna Calligraphy:

Picture 11

Picture 14

myenvelopes

Fortunately, the U.S. Postal Service undertook a task of aesthetic brilliance recently in their adoption of the following (now available!) stamp design… which I am thrilled to be able to use for my sister’s wedding invitations:

Picture 2

5 responses to “Vintage Stamps: S.O.S.!

  1. I love this stunning collection – beautiful post, thanks for sharing ^_^

  2. isabelriojascott

    I did this for my invitation suite – and went on Ebay. Buy in lots. It’s more expensive than the actual postage, but looks really cool.

  3. Mmmm – love that new stamp in particular!

  4. PauvrePlume

    Thanks so much for the tips @isabelriojascott!! I just did a search on eBay and found a couple promising sellers🙂

  5. hi,
    My sisters marriage is on March 19th 2010. I want some nice wedding invitation wordings to send to my friends. can you plz Help me in this…

Leave a Reply

