French Friday: Truffaut movie posters

I am a big François Truffaut fan. BIG. I just finished the final film of the Antoine Doinel series (which began with the benchmark film, Les 400 coups / 400 Blows), and now I’m sad. Not unlike when I watched the series finale of Arrested Development. Or Freaks and Geeks.

So, I felt it appropriate to display my cyber-homage to the movie master for today’s installment of French Friday.

I have gathered all of the original French film posters (sometimes more than one per film, if I deemed said poster truly stellar) from my preferred selections of the Truffaut oeuvre.

Enjoy.

*Notes:

1. The first two posters are oddly similar. I couldn’t decide between them. Doinel looks a bit too orange in the first one, but the rest of the poster is a more accurate portrayal of his character in the movie. In the second one it looks like he just stepped out of the Walton household. John-boy?

and

2. Yes, I know Breathless was directed by Godard. But Truffaut wrote the screenplay, so I still think it counts.

OK, NOW enjoy.

Quatre_coups2

208724.1020.A

baisers-v

a-bout-de-souffle-poster

about1

107615

10011

TheWildChild2

My high school French teacher showed this last film to us in high school, which resulted in months on end of ma meilleure amie and I screeching, “LAIT!” If you’ve seen it, you’ll know why.

4 responses to “French Friday: Truffaut movie posters

  1. Love love love the posters!

  2. Borrowed 400 Blows from the library last month — one of the best films I’ve seen this summer.

    These posters are wonderful, L!😀

    I’m doing well, thanks for your comment. Classes start tomorrow. Pretty excited!

    Hope this note finds you well.🙂

  3. Thanks a lot! I’m a 45th years old italian Cinefils lover of Nouvel Vague and in particular Francois Truffaut that I love over all, OVER ALL.
    Nice to know You.

  4. Thank you for your reply, Pierre! Lovely to “meet” you, and I’m so happy to find another Truffaut lover!🙂

Leave a Reply

