Evelin Kasikov, I worship thee.

I’ve been home sick the past couple of days, and I keep forgetting to venture out and grab my mail. I finally forced myself up off the couch and schlepped out to the mailbox, only to discover: MY FIRST ISSUE OF UPPERCASE MAGAZINE WAS AWAITING ME!!!! Unbelievably excited to have their beautifully designed, insanely inspiring issue in my hands.

And when I got to pages 24 and 25, I almost passed out. Here’s why:

CMYK_alphabet_1

Behold the wonderfully beautiful stitched typefaces and designs of the infinitely talented EVELIN KASIKOV.

From Evelin’s website:

Printed Matter is a project about craft within the context of graphic design. My aim is to bring together craft and modern technology, and explore the possibilities for printing processes to be integrated with textile techniques. My main influences come from Swiss typography, Dutch book design and Estonian language – in no particular order. By mixing high and low tech, screen based media with slower crafts, I investigate different ways of seeing and experiencing visual messages.

typebook8

letters2

3780662811_0355a5125f

everyone_front-3

noortesari4

noortesari6

typetart2

process3

process2

sketchbook2

process7

All images borrowed either from Evelin’s website or her Flickr stream, which I encourage you all to visit tout de suite.

4 responses to “Evelin Kasikov, I worship thee.

  1. I was so honored that Evelin stitched the entire alphabet just for the magazine! Her fingers must have been so tired, but she got it done! She’s amazing.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment; I feel quite honored to have your signature on my blog.🙂 And yes, Evelin is unbelievably talented. I’ve been enjoying discovering her more online, but I never would have been introduced to her if it weren’t for your brilliant magazine!!🙂

  3. I can’t wait for my Uppercase to arrive so I can see Evelin’s new piece; I love her embroidered typography.

    If you are looking for more information on Evelin’s work, here is a little interview we did with her a few months ago:
    http://theexpertsagree.com/2009/06/evelin-kasikov/

  4. Thank you so much for your comment and for the link: what an amazing interview with excellent images of Evelin’s spectacular work! Unbelievably amazing.

Leave a Reply

