Book Worship

The other day, I was introduced to Book Worship via a Tweet by the fabulous BibliOdyssey, whom you should all follow if you do not already. That’s not an order, but it should be. Anyway, Book Worship is awesome and, as you might expect from the not-so-subtle title, it serves as a virtual church for all of us book worshipers to go forth and bow down to the gods of beautifully bound text. Especially beautifully bound texts with kick-butt cover designs.

Shawn Hazen clarifies his motivations in the “About” section of his site:

While I certainly cherish “valuable” books, that’s not necessarily what you’ll see here. For the most part, these are graphically interesting, but otherwise uncollectible, books that entered and exited bookstores quietly in the 50s, 60s, and 70s. I read most of these books, but my motivations for posting them here are primarily visual, since I’m a graphic designer. That’s why it’ll be a bit of a mixed bag.

Some of my favorite (recent) contents of his “mixed bag”:

I was so geekily psyched to see the R.D. Laing text (above) because I actually just ordered a used copy via Amazon (it’s one of the secondary texts in the course I teach). NICE. But anyway… you probably don’t care about that. But what you SHOULD care about are how great these cover designs are and how awesome Shawn Hazen is for compiling them and presenting them to the worshipping public in such a lovely way.

Worship books HERE.

Follow Shawn Hazen on Twitter HERE.

2 responses to “Book Worship

  1. Ooooh! I’m converted!

  2. Pingback: Design on my desk. « Words and Eggs

Leave a Reply

