Iranian children’s books from the 1970s

Unbelievably beautiful children’s books were produced in Iran in the 1970s. I just wish that I could read them.

The images below are courtesy of A Journey Round My Skull’s “Iran” collection, which I strongly encourage you to visit. Such great use of color, brilliant illustrations, and gorgeous calligraphy… I’m kind of drooling right now. In fact, I should probably go fetch a hankie.

OK. All better. Anyway, please enjoy, and please also take a moment to visit the International Children’s Digital Library HERE.

All images below kindly borrowed from A Journey Round My Skull, a stellar blog of under-appreciated (old) books that you should visit at any and all times.

The birdies might be my favorite, despite the lack of calligraphy/text.

Follow A Journey Round My Skull on Twitter HERE and visit the blog HERE.

5 responses to “Iranian children’s books from the 1970s

  1. Those are really beautiful…love the images.

  2. I saw this post too. Absolutely Wonderful!
    Do you know Parisa Mahmoudi’s work? I love some of her illustrations
    http://parisamahmoudi.blogspot.com/2009/07/it-is-published.html
    http://my5dots.blogspot.com/2009/12/music-card_10.html

  3. So beautiful and inspiring.

  4. These are beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

